• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Is variety good or bad?

I finally started in a martial arts class. Ive been going for two weeks now and love it but I have one question. Our instructor teaches multiple arts to us. We jus kinda touch on everything lol So is this a good thing or is it better to focus on one art since im a beginner??

I never try anything...I just do it.

wanna try me

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

nothing worng with studying more than one stlye if they blend well. however I think it's important to get A GOOD BASE in a certain stlye of fighting such as

If you study Judo, Aikido and Brazilian jiu jitsu then you are learning similar concepts and a somewhat similar stlye of fighting.

Or If you study Boxing and Muay thai at the same time.

What would be difficult is if you studied say... Capoiera, karate and Traditional jiu jitsu..you wouldent really get a good foundation.

Hope i got across what i was tring to say..

I don't think it's a problem when an instructor teaches one art mainly and then mixes a few others in as long as there is a strong base. Like my instructor does. He mainy teaches TKD, but mixes others in. He teaches a more well rounded version of TKD because of it.

Laurie F

Our instructor teaches multiple arts to us. We jus kinda touch on everything ... is this a good thing or is it better to focus on one art... ?

Depends on the arts and how well they are integrated, and the instructor and how well he understands what he's teaching.

There are a lot of schools out there which just throw a few styles together, with no understanding of the principles or concepts that make the styles work, and so have trouble making them work together.