• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

TKD Double Kick

I recently started training in TKD again, this time with a friend of mine from high school. He's a 2nd dan, and his style of TKD is very different of mine. For example, at my old school, we never did double kicks. There are many other new things he's teaching me, but I'm having the most trouble with double kicks.

To clarify what I mean: double kicks are when you start out with a back leg roundhouse, then jump and throw another roundhouse with the other leg. Eventually, you're supposed to be able to throw these consecutively, to where you're throwing ten kicks right after the other.

Here's my problem: I can't get my hips to rotate enough between kicks. As a result, my kicks are pretty sloppy, and my shoulders are ending up square with my target. Also, I seem to get closer with every kick, so that by the time I'm on the third one, I'm hitting with my knees. Finally, I can't get any power off the kick at all, but I think that will probably come with time as I learn to do the kick properly.

Basically, I'm screwing the whole thing up.

I need tips for:

- Hip rotation (the sides of my abs get really sore after doing these, I don't think I have the proper muscles for this.)

- Maintaining a proper distance from the bag/target

- Overall execution of the technique

Any help would be appreciated, but especially in those three categories I mentioned. My friend has been very patient with me, but I'd like to get this down before his patience wears thin! Thanks :)

1st dan & Asst. Instructor TKD 2000-2003

No matter the tune...if you can rock it, rock it hard.

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic