• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Yellow Belt gradings

stuart

Hello my first grading is coming up soon (Nov) I was wondering what other peoples experiences were.

I am a student of B.A.M.A ( Bushido Academy of Martial arts) and have been told to expect to do my Kata (upwards of 10 times), the Geri waza, basic techniques and answer a some questions about the techniques. How does this relate to other peoples first grading?

Thanks.

Purple Belt

• advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

stuart - so you are white belt testing for a new rank?

Anyway, I remember being very nervous for mine. It was physically challenging. I had to do all the basic techniques, and the two kata's that I knew. Also, we have definitions that we have to know per each rank, and we were asked to recite this as we went up to receive our belt. We had to spar 3 rounds with 25 pushups and 25 situps in between. We usually ended up doing about 125 pushups and 125 situps. Good Luck and have fun!

"If it is not hard, it is not worth doing."

Hi there 10x to repeat the same Kata? sounds like a lot!

white - red - yellow was my style.

demonstration of two katas, a few basic kicks and strikes, a few self defence movements and then basic fitness at end.

simple stuff true but still didn't stop my nerves and the easy build up to the higher grades was an excellent way to encourage achievement and committment

GL!

700 hours of official training. Injury finished me dammit!

1st Kyu Wado Ryu

im going for my yellow belt soon to, my style, Isshinryu, has a uniform code used for ranking, but my sensai doesnt exactly follow it, sometimes i kinda wish he would, the uniform code has some skills in it i have outside the martial arts that are demonstrated.

heres my dojo requirments for Hachikyu

must preform Seisan kata resonably well